Skip to main content

Win a 2018 Readiness Challenge Grant

Submitted by scc staff on September 27, 2017

Accelerate your smart city efforts with mentoring and benefits from leading experts and organizations

Start now: Request access to a simple online application

Move your smart city efforts into the fast lane by applying for a Readiness Challenge Grant. Each of the five winning cities receives a year’s worth of free mentoring, valuable products and services, a custom-designed, on-site Readiness Workshop, membership in the Smart Cities Leadership Circle and worldwide publicity.

WHY? Winners receive numerous benefits free of charge:

A year’s support by the Council’s Readiness Program, including a full-day Readiness Workshop in your city.

Expert mentoring before, during and after the workshop.

Free products and services worth hundreds of thousands from leading organizations, including Qualcomm, Battelle, SYNEXXUS, CompTIA and IES.

Membership in the Smart Cities Leadership Circle, an invitation-only knowledge exchange for cities at the forefront.

Worldwide publicity in the leading smart cities newsletter, on the Council website, at the Smart Cities Week conferences and at the U.S. Conference of Mayors.

Past entrants confirm there’s plenty to gain just by filling in the online application, whether or not you win. But hurry – applications must be completed no later than December 15, 2017. Refer to the Readiness Challenge Frequently Asked Questions for additional details.

WHAT: Each year, the Smart Cities Council donates coaching, workshops, products, services and more free benefits to five communities in North America. This year, we have expanded eligibility and benefits.

HOW: Request access to a simple online application. Open it now, then return to it as needed to complete the questions.

Tip: Ask your local electric company for a letter of support to gain extra points toward winning.

WHO: Valid for North American communities in the U.S., Canada and Mexico:

  • Cities
  • Counties
  • States
  • Provinces
  • Regional authorities (port, transit, etc.)


Start your application now.