Skip to main content

Karnataka Govt sets up task force to eradicate single use plastic

Karnataka Govt sets up task force
Submitted by scc india staff on May 28, 2021

The Karnataka Government has formed a 16-member Special Task Force (STF) for implementing measures to eliminate single-use plastic in the state.

The force has both Principal secretaries of several departments as its members, and Member Secretary, Karnataka State Pollution Control Board will be its Member Convener.

The meeting of the STF will be assembled once every two months. And, as needed, the Chairperson may co-opt members.

According to the decision taken in the PRAGATI conference held by the Prime Minister on January 24, The Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change (MoEFCC) had requested the state government to constitute a Special Task Force.

The state government has even selected the Directorate of Municipal Administration as the nodal department for urban sectors and the Rural Drinking water and Sanitation Department as the nodal department for rural sectors.

The city/district level task force has been constituted for efficient implementation on the ground, directed by the Chief Commissioner of Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike (BBMP) in Bengaluru and Deputy Commissioners in districts.

MoEFCC has notified the Plastic Waste Management Rules, 2016, banning plastic carry bags less than 50 microns.

The Department of Forest, Environment and Ecology, Government of Karnataka in 2016, has also announced the prohibition on selling and utilisation of all kinds of plastic carry bags, including buntings and flex, plastic banners, plates, cups, spoons, etc. on the dining table and thermocol across the state.